Stuart Mourton

Favourite Thing: Designing and carrying out new experiments about how we learn actions and skills. Coming up with novel theories about skill aquisition and testing them in the lab.



St Edwards Middle School and VI Form, Cheltenham 1994-1999 GCSE’s and A Levels


Bangor University 2000-2008 (BSc in Sports Science, MSc in Applied Sport and Exercise Physiology, PhD in Motor Learning)

Work History:

Liverpool John Moores University (Guest Lecturer) and Bangor University (Lecturer and current RA role). Also lots of part time jobs in Pubs during my studies


Bangor University

Current Job:

Research Assistant and various other small jobs

Me and my work

I investigate how we learn skills and what affects the decisions we make during sport

You may think that you have complete control over the actions and decisions you make both in sport and everyday life but there is much more going on at a sub-conscious level than you might expect. I am investigating the processes that go on in our brains that lead us to make quick decisions about actions we are required to perform in lots of different situations. Things so subtle that you might think they make no difference, like the colour of a target, or what you are expecting to happen actually have a big influence on the decisions we make.   

My Typical Day

A combination experimental design, data collection in the lab, data analysis and meetings with students and other lecturers

One of the joys of working in the field I do and in a University is that no day is ever the same! During term time I may have lectures to teach, a computer based practical to assist with or a seminar to run with a small group of students. I’ll be running some testing sessions almost every day for a couple of hours too. In addition I’ll probably have a couple of students pop in to see me for stats advice, discussions about projects they want to run as part of their undergraduate degree or just some general advice. In between all that I’ll also have to fit in some data analysis, writing up my own research, nipping up to see my girlfriend (who conveniently works in the same department as me!) and a quick check of BBC Sport to see what’s happening in the world of sport in general and Liverpool FC and Gloucester RFC specifically!!  Oh, and I’ll try and fit lunch in too!

What I'd do with the money

I’m currently undertaking some new research which looks at how individuals with disabilities learn and carry out skills. I’d like to be able to present this data to a conference on Learning Disabilities

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

enthusiastic, laid-back, impulsive

Who is your favourite singer or band?

Blink 182

What is the most fun thing you've done?

Either the Bungy Jump i did in New Zealand or the Hockey tour to Italy i went on in 2005

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

Be better at sport (always wanted to be a professional sportsman!), have a better concentration span, be better at picking lottery numbers!!

What did you want to be after you left school?

Wasn’t really sure, just knew it would involve sport in some way!

Were you ever in trouble in at school?

Sometimes, only for small things though really!!

What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

The first time you see your name in a journal with an article you’ve published is a very proud moment!

Tell us a joke.

I really don’t get why so many people are annoyed with Swansea, a Welsh team, getting promoted to the English Premiership. I mean, Arsenal are a French team and they’ve been in it for years!!